Honorary Fellowship

Honorary Fellowship is the highest recognition that CILIP can give to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the library and information world.

It can sometimes be awarded to members of the profession as a reflection of the respect and regard of their colleagues for a particularly important contribution over a long period of time.

It is also the means by which CILIP can recognise those people who are not in the information profession but have supported and contributed to its development and profile.

Honorary Fellows do not have to be CILIP members but must have some kind of relationship or link to the profession.

Nominations for 2017

Nominations for this year's Honorary Fellowships are now closed.

Further information for the criteria of Honorary Fellowships can be found below, with the nomination form and a guidnace note at the end of the page.

Forms are to be sent to Ayca Ilcen on ayca.ilcen@cilip.org.uk by 5pm on Friday 30th June.

Award criteria

Nominations for Honorary Fellows have to demonstrate at least one or more of the following:

  • That their work or activity has raised the profile of the information profession in some way.
  • That their work or activity has had a significant and positive impact on the profession.
  • That they have made a difference to the world of libraries, information and knowledge through their work or activities.

Nominees could include:

  • A person with a long history of outstanding leadership in the profession who has recognition in society and has raised the profile of information professionals.
  • A person who has campaigned or supported campaigns in line with CILIP's charitable objections to improve society by making better practice or services.
  • A person who has made an outstanding contribution to change in soceity becuase of their role as an information professional.
  • A person who is an 'unsung hero' who has perhaps supported others in a ways that has 'gone the extra mile'.

2016 Honorary Fellowships

At CILIP's AGM on the 29th September Honorary Fellowships were awarded to:

  • Moe Moe Soe, Chief Librarian at the British Council’s Library in Myanmar
  • Mark Hepworth, Professor in People's Information Behaviour at Loughborough University
  • Tricia Adams, School Library Association Director  
  • Linda Ferguson BA (Hons), MA, FCLIP Deputy Director of NHS Library and Knowledge Services North and NHS Health Care Libraries Unit, North
  • Moira Bent, Retired Librarian and National Teaching Fellow and Visiting Fellow at Newcastle University